Records Review – Catholic Records

Posted: February 12, 2011 in For Genealogists, Records Review
Tags: ,

Records held by a Roman Catholic Church are unique to the realm of Catholicism.   They generally follow the seven (7) sacraments in the church – Baptism, First Communion, Confession, Confirmation, Marriage, Holy Orders and Anointing of the Sick.

Tips – Check out the area your relative lived at before starting your journey to look for documents.  You see in many places in the world those records could be at the biggest church in the country, local church level or in an archives for the church in that country or Dioceses or Archdioceses like in the United States.

Keep in mind: While everyone associates the Vatican with every Catholic in the world – The Vatican is not always able to be associated with all Catholics.

Traditionalist Catholics usually follow the Latin Mass traditions from before the Vatican Council II changes.  These churches hold ones own records generally.  Time frame about 1965 to the present   More Information: Traditio Traditional Roman Catholic Network

Next Week: Records Review: Ancient Irish


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s